Lahore University of Management Sciences

LUMS Experts Prominent at National Consultation for Rio+20

May 23, 2012

Share this page on Facebook

Experts from the Lahore Univeristy of Management Sciences (LUMS) were prominent amongst the speakers and participants at the National Consultation on the Green Economy in preparation for the Rio+20 Earth Summit. The consultation held in Islamabad on May 18-19, 2012 saw prominent contributions from LUMS Board of Trustees member Dr. Pervez Hassan, LUMS Vice Chancellor Dr. Adil Najam, and Chairman of LESCO and LUMS Visiting Professor Ahmed Rafay Alam.

LUMS Trustee and noted Supreme Court lawyer Dr. Hassan served as Chair and facilitator for the substantive sessions on the second day that dealt with key domestic issues for a green economy. Dr. Hassan led the consultation process on issues related to energy, food, urban issues and youth and focused the attention of the participants on the key emerging challenges as well as areas in which positive action can be taken.

Rafay Alam was the key speaker on urban issues, who focused on the threats as well as opportunities for a green economy in the urban context. He pointed out that not enough attention has been given to cities and that this needs to be remedied as we move into the future.

Dr. Najam, was the keynote speaker for the final session and spoke on institutional arrangements for a green economy. He built on his previous research on the subject, including his recently published report ‘Governance for a Green Economy’  and his contributions to the United Nations reports on the subject . In his remarks, Dr. Najam also highlighted practical lessons in enabling green economy steps from the experience of the SarSubz LUMS initiatives.

Other prominent speakers at the Pakistan National Consultation on a Green Economy included: Dr. Sartaj Aziz, Faryal Gauhar, Dr. Tariq Banuri, Amb. Shafqat Kakakhel, Arif Alaudin, Noman Rafiq, Adil Khattak, Awais Qureshi, Inam ur Rahman, Asif Bajwa, Abid Suleri, Toshihiro Tanaka, Dr. HuSBASSEin Abaza, Farrukh Iqbal Khan, Sheng Fulai, Malik Amin Aslam Khan, Ali Tauqeer Sheikh, Timo Pakkala, Khalid Mohtadullah and Shakil Durrani.