LUMS VC Engages with the Inaugural University Advisory Board

Thursday, February 28, 2019

The Vice Chancellor LUMS, Dr. Arshad Ahmad along with members of the Management Committee, Deans and several faculty and staff hosted the University Advisory Board (UAB) during their inaugural visit to LUMS on January 30, 2019. The UAB engaged with senior management at LUMS during their stay, which included wide-ranging discussions regarding the future direction of the University.

“We are honoured to learn from such a diverse group who have travelled far to engage in rich conversations with us. LUMS has charted a course for new directions and the UAB brings tremendous experience and wisdom. The UAB is a mirror for LUMS to see itself, sharpen its focus, and move forward," remarked Dr. Ahmad.

The UAB members hold distinguished positions and bring a variety of perspectives. They were chaired by Ms. Leah Rosovsky (Harvard University) and included, Dr. Nancy J. Adler (McGill University), Dr. Philip Altbach (Babson College), Dr. Khalid Aziz (Stanford University), Dr. David Bloom (Harvard University), Ms. Denise Chalmers (University of Western Australia), Dr. Mehmood Khan (PepsiCo), Dr. Greg Moran (Academics Without Borders, Canada), Dr. Nicholas A. Robinson (Pace University) and Dr. David Wilkinson (McMaster University).

The VC and his team, ensured that the four-day engagement with the UAB included several productive discussions on LUMS vision, governance, leadership, programming, faculty roles and rewards, and advancement activities. In addition, several activities led by students and staff were arranged for the visitors to provide them a glance into life at LUMS and Lahore, the cultural capital of Pakistan.
For both, the LUMS management and the UAB, there was much to learn from each other, and the University looks forward to hosting them next year and staying connected.