LUMS at a Glance


The National Management Foundation incorporated in November

Javed Hamid appointed as the first Director


The University Charter granted in March

The first admissions policy was approved on the 18th of November 1985 and set at a maximum of 50 students – but just 46 applicants made the cut

The first campus opened near Liberty Market at a rented house, 103-C

The first computer lab was inaugurated; it was a basic setup with just about five computers in the basement, but at the time it was state of the art 





4th of September 1986 was the first day of the first class of the Lahore University of Management Sciences

Syed Babar Ali chosen as Pro Chancellor, LUMS

Abdul Razak Dawood chosen as Rector, LUMS

Dr. Jan-Eric Vahlne appointed as Associate Dean

Case Research Centre established


In 1987, the LUMS library became the first library in Pakistan to computerize its holdings and services using INMAGIC software


Dr. James A. Erskine appointed as the first Dean


On the 4th of April 1989, the USAID grant for $10 million, to be utilized by the Lahore University of Management Sciences for campus construction, was signed jointly by Syed Babar Ali and the US Ambassador

Dr. Waseem Azhar appointed as the second Dean

Dr. Salman Shah appointed as Associate Dean of the Executive Development Centre (EDC)

June 29th 1989 the first Convocation for the class of '88 and '89 held with President Ghulam Ishaq Khan as the Keynote Speaker


Small and Medium Enterprise Centre (SMEC) set up with the help of Konrad-Adenauer Foundation of Germany


US $1 million donated by Tetra-Laval, Sweden for Executive Development Centre, courtesy of the Rausing family


On the 8th of October 1992 the undergraduate program was given the go-ahead by the Board of Trustees


LUMS received 689 applications for its first batch of undergraduates

100 acre LUMS campus built in DHA, Lahore

Convocation for the class of '93 held with President Farooq Ahmed Leghari as the Chief Guest and Shaukat Aziz, Executive Vice President, Citibank as the Keynote Speaker


16th November 1994: the Rausing Executive Development Centre (REDC) becomes fully functional

24th of August 1994 marked the day when the first batch of 65 undergraduates stepped onto the new campus

The Pepsi Dining Center (PDC), partially funded by Pepsi International, becomes operational


First phase of faculty housing completed


School of Arts and Sciences (SOAS) formed to oversee the undergraduate programmes

An additional funding of US$ 1 million given by Tetra-Laval, Sweden, through the Rausing family


Syed Babar Ali donated Rs. 20 million over a period of four years for the construction of the first female hostel; this was the first hostel building to be constructed; it was inaugurated on 15th June, 1998 and named Mubarik Hostel, after his mother 


Dr. Wasim Azhar appointed as the first Pro Vice Chancellor


Dr. Syed Zahoor Hassan appointed as the second Pro Vice Chancellor of LUMS

The Social Enterprise Development Centre (SEDC) established with funding from CIDA


Dr. Syed Zahoor Hassan appointed as the first Vice Chancellor

Dr. Ehsan-ul-Haq appointed as the Dean of the Business School

LUMS Mosque starts its functions


The Centre for Advanced Studies in Mathematics (CASM) established

The Business School renamed as the Suleman Dawood School of Business (SDSB)


Dr. Jawaid Abdul Ghani appointed as the Dean of SDSB

Khalid Ishaque collection given to the Gad and Birgit Rausing Library in April 2005


SOAS renamed as School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law (MGSHSS)

First LUMS PhD students graduate

School of Science and Engineering launched


Dr. Shaukat Brah appointed as the Dean of SDSB


Dr. Ahmed Jan Durrani appointed as the second Vice Chancellor of LUMS

First batch of 17 students graduate from the law programme

Dr. Ijaz Nabi appointed as the first Dean of MGSHSS


B.A. (Honors) in the Humanities was introduced; a B.Sc. (Honors) in Anthropology/Sociology and Political Science was launched.


The Development Policy Research Centre (DPRC) established

Nawab Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani Centre established by the Gurmani Foundation

Office of Graduate Studies and Sponsored Research established

Dr. Arif Nazir Butt appointed as the Second Dean of SDSB


LUMS celebrates its 25th year anniversary

The SBASSE building inaugurated

The LUMS library building renamed as the Gad & Birgit Rausing Library in recognition of the Rausing family's support towards the building

Dr. Adil Najam appointed the third Vice Chancellor of LUMS

Dr. Sohail Qureshi appointed as the Dean of SBASSE

MGSHSS launches a B.A. (Honors) in History


Dr. Anjum Altaf appointed as the second Dean of MGSHSS

First Batch of SBASSE graduates

School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law renamed Mushtaq Ahmad Gurmani School of Humanities and Social Sciences (MGSHSS)

School of Science and Engineering renamed as Syed Babar Ali School of Science and Engineering (SBASSE)

Shaikh Ahmad Hassan School of Law (SAHSOL) announced

Minors in the following disciplines were introduced: Anthropology/Sociology, Economics, English, History, Philosophy, Political Science, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics and Physics.


Prof. Dr. S. Sohail H. Naqvi appointed as the fourth Vice Chancellor of LUMS

MGSHSS launched a B.A. (Honours) in English and a minor in Psychology


LUMS adopts global testing standards i.e SAT for undergrads and GMAT/GRE for grads


Shaikh Ahmad Hassan School of Law (SAHSOL) inaugurated.


LUMS celebrates its 30 year anniversary.

Dr.  Jawad Syed appointed as the Dean of the Suleman Dawood School of Business (SDSB).

Prof. Dr. Martin Lau appointed as the Dean of the Shaikh Ahmad Hassan School of Law (SAHSOL).