LUMS SAHSOL Hosts the Fifth LUMS National Moot Court Competition

Thursday, December 3, 2015

On November 7, 2015, the Shaikh Ahmad Hassan School of Law (SAHSOL) hosted the Fifth LUMS National Moot Court Competition in the Asifa-Irfan Moot Court Room. SAHSOL selects a well reviewed topic each year for this Competition. In light of the recent events, which have attracted many debates and discussions all over Pakistan, the topic chosen for this year was Extra-ordinary Courts - questioning not only their legality but also their functionality, and validity of decisions rendered by them. 

The Moot was presided over and judged by Justice (R) Sair Ali,  Justice (R)  Shakirullah Jan, and Justice (R) Aamer Raza Khan. It was also attended by prominent legal personalities. Syed Babar Ali, Pro Chancellor of LUMS - the Chief Guest - spoke on the importance of such debates in the country, after the concluding remarks offered by Dr. Sohail Naqvi, Vice Chancellor of LUMS. Law students from various schools, colleges and universities also attended the Competition, including LGS 55 Main, LGS Defence, Aitchison College, Kinnaird College, Quaid-e-Azam Law College, Pakistan College of Law, Punjab Law College, and International Islamic University to observe the proceedings and learn the various elements that form an essential part of lawyering.

Law schools from all over the country were invited to compete in the event. The team from University College Lahore obtained the first place, with their speaker Ali Hanfeya Bokhari also winning the award for the Best Speaker; The award for best researcher went to Nawal Ramay from Pakistan College of Law.

The Competition was organized by Dr. Ali Qazilbash, and Marva Khan, who was duly assisted by her colleagues Neha Gauhar, Khizer Hussain, and staff members including Zuneera Azhar, Muhammad Imran and Khalid M. Siddiqi, Shahnawaz Ali and Muhammad Iftikhar. They were also supported by enthusiastic student volunteers including Mirza Abdul Moiz Baig - who also served as the Amicus during the proceedings, Ashtar Haideri, Fatima Wahla, Imraha Farooq, Khadijah Ahmad, Khyzer Hayat, M. Oneeb Afzal, Rimsha Amin Korejo, Samar Abbas Rind, Sarah Malik, and Sheza Ahmed.